0222 2038 The New Serenity ×

Today, in the year 2038, we have mastered the great crises. It was close, but we made it. The global ecological, social, and economic disasters of the 2020s brought people, states, institutions, and companies together. They committed themselves to fundamental rights and jointly created viable, adaptable systems and legal frameworks on a planetary basis, giving decentralized, local structures the space to maintain and create highly diverse models of co-existing. Technology and big data helped us to turn new and old ideas into reality. And often architects were part of the solution because they had answers instead of coming up with more questions. Drama is now history. We live in a radical democracy, in a radical bureaucracy. On a planet that doesn’t know or need heroes or villains.

2019 –
Bundesministerium des Innern, für Bau und Heimat (BMI)
German Pavilion, Venice Biennale of Architecture
How will we live together?
2038—international team of architects, artists, ecologists, economists, scientists, politicians and writers initiated by Arno Brandlhuber, Olaf Grawert, Nikolaus Hirsch and Christopher Roth.
Blaise Agüera y Arcas, Diana Alvarez-Marin, Andrés Arauz, Arts of the Working Class, Mara Balestrini, Sandra Bartoli, Diann Bauer, Jan Bauer, BBSR, Tatiana Bilbao, BMI, Oana Bogdan, Mohamed Bourouissa, Arno Brandlhuber, Jakob Brandtberg Knudsen & Lorenz von Seidlein, Francesca Bria, Otis Sloan Brittain, Vera Bühlmann, Bureau N, Benjamin Burq, Mary Ellen Carroll, Vint Cerf, cfk architetti, Elke Doppelbauer, Keller Easterling, Tobia de Eccher, Eidotech, Kurt Eggenschwiler, Ludwig Engel, Joao Enxuto & Erica Love, ExRotaprint, Cosimo Flohr, Lenny Flohr, Michaela Friedberg, Yona Friedman, Renée Gailhoustet, Jan-Peter Gieseking, Goethe Institut, Olaf Grawert, Dorothee Hahn, Nils Havelka, Hecker’s Hotel Kurfürstendamm, Helene Hegemann, Holger Heissmeyer, Laura Henno, Angelika Hinterbrandner, Nikolaus Hirsch, Fabrizio Hochschild Drummond, Ludger Hovestadt, Pan Hu, JUNG, Jennifer Jacquet & Becca Franks, Mitchell Joachim, Sonja Junkers, Roberta Jurčić, Claudia Kessler, Sénamé Koffi Agbodjinou, Ulrich Kriese, Lukas Kubina, Nikolaus Kuhnert, Christopher Kulendran, Thomas & Annika Kuhlmann, Phyllis Lambert, Lawrence Lessig, Cedric Libert, Ferdinand Ludwig & Daniel Schoenle, Suhail Malik, Charlotte Malterre-Barthes, Hilary Mason, V. Mitch McEwen, James Meadway, MicroEnergy International, Omoju Miller, Evgeny Morozov, Motif, Motor Productions, Salum Mshamu, Caroline Nevejan, Bahar Noorizadeh, Sabine Oberhuber & Thomas Rau, Jorge Orozco, Verena Otto, Poligonal, Joana Pope, Leif Randt, RAUE Rechtsanwälte und Rechtsanwältinnen, Rebiennale, Denis 'Jaromil' Roio, Raquel Rolnik, Meghan Rolvien, Christopher Roth, Juliana Rotich, Saygel, Schreiber & Gioberti, Jan Schmidt-Garre, Patrik Schumacher, Max Senges, Deane Simpson, Sol Marino, Bruce Sterling, Michael Stöppler, Lia Strenge, Audrey Tang, Terra 0, The Laboratory of Manuel Bürger, Jeanne Tremsal, Galaad Van Daele, Iris van der Tuin, Marcus Vesterager, VITRA International, Julian Wäckerlin, Eyal Weizman, Julia Werlen, E. Glen Weyl, Why Ventures, Mark Wigley, Hannah Wood, Erez Yoeli, Tirdad Zolghadr, and many others

Trailer "The New Serenity 2038"

In conversation with Audrey Tang © 2038

In conversation with Sénamé Koffi Agbodjinou © 2038

In conversation with Francesca Bria © 2038